

Ojai Unified School District

414 East Ojai Avenue, P.O. Box 878, Ojai, CA 93024 (805) 640-4300 • Fax (805) 640-4419 • www.ojaiusd.org

Citizens Oversight Committee

Meeting Minutes

May 22, 2023

5:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.

Place: Ojai Unified School District Board Rooms

414 E. Ojai Ave., Ojai, CA 93023

Members in Attendance: William Norris, Chair; Kathy Smith, Secretary; Jennifer Burkett;; PJ Garahan;

Donna Lloyd. Absent: John Hook

District Staff: Alan White, Adam Dutter

1. The meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m.

- a. Flag Salute
- b. Addition to the agenda regarding bond fund loan to OUSD General Fund
- c. Approval of the agenda. 5-0
- d. The minutes of 6/15/22; 2/17/23; and 5/8/23 were approved
- 2. There were no public comments
- 3. Discussion about the transfer loan of bond funds to the OUSD general fund and as noted in the annual report to the school board.
 - Recap: In June of 2022 and transfer of \$ 600,000 was made from the bond fund balance to the OUSD general fund. Presumably for cashflow reasons. The full amount was repaid by transfer on August 8, 2022. Approximately 60 days after the initial transfer. Subsequently, a COC member asked if the funds had been repaid with interest. Upon investigation it was determined an interest payment was due to the bond fund in the amount of \$ 4,717 according to the interest rate for that period reported by VCOE. This money was repaid prior to June 1, 2023.
- 4. Discussion about the annual report from the COC to the OUSD School Board with final draft approved by the board 5-0
- 5. No future agenda items were noted.
- 6. The meeting was adjourned approximately 6:35 p.m.
- 7. Following the meeting an informal discussion with continuing members was had.

 The outgoing members completed their term of service. Only Donna Lloyd and PJ Garahan remain on the committee and plan to serve as chair and secretary respectively in the coming year.

Administration	Board of Education
Sherrill Knox, Ed.D., Interim Superintendent	Atticus Reyes, President
	Phil Moncharch, Vice President
	Dr. James Halverson, Clerk
	Kathy Smith, Trustee Area 4
	Blair Braney, Trustee Area 2