Bismarck-Henning Rossville-Alvin Cooperative High School Board of Education Meeting Minutes Monday, June 12th, 2023 5:00pm - BHCUSD Board Room

The Bismarck-Henning Rossville-Alvin Cooperative High School Board of Education Reorganizational Meeting was called to order on Monday, June 12th, 2023 at 5:00pm by Robert Danner, Board President.

Roll Call was taken. Present: John Petersen, Cheryl Brumett, Steve Lane, Robert Danner, Justin Watt, Jeremy Deck, and Maridith Hearnley. Also present was Scott Watson - Superintendent of Bismarck-Henning CUSD and Crystal Johnson-Maden - Superintendent of Rossville-Alvin School District.

• Motion to Approve Agenda with change of moving agenda item 12 to 5 made by Cheryl Brumett and seconded by Maridith Hearnley. Approved by roll call vote 7-0.

Guests: Phil Benjamin - Assistant Principal, Kelly Meeker - Bookkeeper, Emily Gernand - Parent, Cory Potter - EPIC Insurance.

 Motion made by John Petersen and seconded by Steve Lane to approve the Minutes of the May Board Meeting, Bills of the Month, Activity Fund Balances, School Fees for 23-24, and 23-24 Board Meeting Dates.. Approved by roll call vote 7-0.

Heard from Cory Potter from EPIC Insurance regarding workmen's compensation renewal.

• Motion made by Steve Lane and seconded by Cheryl Brumett to approve the worker's compensation renewal from EPIC Insurance for the 23-24 year. Approved by roll call vote 7-0.

Recommendation by Mr. Rademacher to add a journalism course that would produce a school newspaper. The course would be taught by Lindsey Andrews.

• Motion made by John Petersen and seconded by Maridith Hearnley to approve the Journalism course. Approved by roll call vote 7-0.

First Reading of Student Handbook Changes including changes from IL Principals association, graduation requirements changed to require 3 years of math taken in the HS 9-12 levels, breakfast addition, addition of Chromebook and Internet Acceptable Use policy and senior exam final exemption language.

 Motion made by Cheryl Brumett and seconded by Steve Lane to approve the first reading of the 23-24 Student Handbook with changes. Approved by roll call vote 7-0.

RTO Reduction plan given to us by the state a few months ago had some minor changes made to it...

- Motion made by John Petersen and seconded by Maridith Hearnley to approve the RTO Reduction Plan with changes. Approved by roll call vote 7-0.
- Motion made by Cheryl Brumett and approved by Steve Lane to approve the Policy Manual Customization Agreement. Approved by roll call vote 7-0.

Reports

- 1. Phil Benjamin presented a discipline/attendance report. 404 total referrals this school year. Numbers are trending back to pre-covid numbers.
- 2. Class of 2023 86 students enrolled students, 81 seniors at the end of the school year, 78 graduated. 3 didn't graduate 1 has already met requirements for his diploma through credit recovery.
- 3. Did you know?
 - a. AJ Jones from VASE is our Step Coordinator. She helps students with IEPs with job skills, finding jobs, training, and so much more.
 - b. June 24th Tom Johnson will be inducted into the Illiana Sports Hall of Fame at Seeger High School.
 - c. We, along with other county schools, received 300 boxes of high quality art supplies as a donation.

Cheer coaches are requesting permission to participate in competitive cheer competitions. Would include more than just the county tournament. Adding regional competition up to state + 1 other competition for this year.

 Motion made by Maridith Hearnley and seconded by Justin Watt to allow cheerleaders to compete in competitions other than County Tournament. Approved by roll call vote 7-0.

Personnel

- Motion made by Cheryl Brumett and seconded by Steve Lane to approve the resignation of Head Softball Coach, Terry McCord. Approved by roll call vote 7-0.
- Motion made by Steve Lane and seconded by Maridith Hearnly to approve the employment of Jennifer Heidrick as a math teacher. Approved by roll call vote 7-0.
- Motion made by Maridith Hearnley and seconded by Justin Watt to approve Amy Jameson as the treasurer. Approved by roll call vote 7-0.
- Motion made by Cheryl Brumett and seconded by John Petersen to approve the employment of Lindsey Andrews as Head Softball Coach Approved by roll call vote 7-0.
- Motion made by Cheryl Brumett and seconded by John Petersen to approve Jennifer Guminski as the second student council sponsor. Approved by roll call vote 7-0.
- Motion to adjourn at 5:51pm made by Maridith Hearnley and seconded by Justin Watt. Approved by voice vote 7-0.

President, Robert Danner
Secretary, Jeremy Deck