An overview of the school board meetings for Richland County CUSD #1

Quick Board Summary

April 18, 2024

<u>Board of</u> Education

President Scott Snyder

Vice-President Jeff Wilson

Secretary Cindy Lockley

Member Jake Anderson

Member Cindy Bailey

Member Norm Henderson

Member Marc Leist

Superintendent of Schools

Jason Fox

District Office 1100 E. Laurel St. Olney, IL 62450 www.rccu1.net The Regular Meeting of the Richland County Board of Education was called to order by President Scott Snyder at 6:00 p.m. Scott Snyder, Jake Anderson, Cindy Bailey, Norm Henderson, Marc Leist, Cindy Lockley, and Jeff Wilson were in attendance. The meeting was viewable by the public via live stream at <u>http://live.rccu1.net</u>.

Recognition and Comments from Employees & <u>Public</u>

- RCES students with the Speech Action Team and the Service Action Team presented to the board all the accomplishments of RCES being a Leader in Me School. RCES earned Legacy Status in 2023. Student led tours of RCES were given to board members. Thank you Mrs. Hardy and Mrs. Walker for leading these teams.
- 2. Mark Herman spoke to the board regarding ADA Accessibility and addressing the issues at the High School.

Consent Agenda Items –The regular and closed minutes of the March 21, 2024 regular board meeting and the April 9, 2024 special meeting, destruction of the audio recording of September 22, 2022, Policies for First Reading and Consideration, monthly building reports and fundraiser requests were approved as presented.

Reports, Updates, & Informational Items

<u>**Financial Reports</u>** - The March financial report was included in the board packet. The monthly bill listing in the amount of \$589,573.05 was approved.</u>

Superintendent's Report

- RCHS Graduation will be on Sunday, May 19th at 3:00 p.m., and RCMS Promotion will be held Tuesday, May 21st at 9:00 a.m. at RCHS.
- Mr. Fox presented a list of district employees to be recognized at the Service Award Program that will be held on May 22nd at 8:30 a.m. at RCHS.

Discussion/Action Items

- Approved the 2024-2025 Dual Credit Model Partnership Agreement with Illinois Eastern Community Colleges.
- 2. Approved the Five Year Maintenance Plan for 2024-2028 as presented.

The Board of Education met in regular session at

6:00 pm at the

Richland County Elementary School

Personnel Matters

Notification(s) of Intent to Retire – The Board approved the notification of intent to retire from RCHS Teacher Klay Wheeler, RCMS Assistant Principal Michelle Klingler, and RCES Teacher Missy Mitchell at the end of the 2027-2028 school year.

<u>Resignation(s)</u> – The board approved the resignations of Shanna Ginder as RCES Paraprofessional effective May 22, 2024, Crystal Green as RCES Food Service Manager effective May 23, 2024, and Chad LeCrone as Assistant Superintendent effective June 30, 2024. Also, approved resignations of Kayelee Deimel as RCHS Assistant Volleyball Coach and Collin Klinger as RCMS 8th Grade Boys Basketball Coach effective immediately.

Employment - The board approved the employment of Lucas Teel as RCHS Social Science Teacher, Martin Holtz as RCHS Army JROTC Instructor, and Haven Doll as RCES Classroom Teacher all effective for the 2024-2025 school year.

The board approved the 2024 Summer Maintenance Workers: Dave Angle, Marcy Coats, Shaun Hopkins, Haylie Roark, Colleen Steber, Jessica Cooper, Allyson Harness, Adam Jurasik, Abigayle Mitchell, Shelley Dehner, Kim Range, Christy Travis, Seth Hahn, Trinity Milburn, Bill Phelps, Andrea Thomas, Gavyn Cothern, and Shamus Shick.

The board approved the following RCES additional duty assignments for the 2024-2025 school year:

Team Leaders: Tiffany Grove (Kindergarten), Aimee Volk (1st Grade), Alexis Shawver (2nd Grade), Jill Greenwood (3rd Grade), Michelle Burgener (4th Grade), Brittany Leaf (5th Grade).

Quick Board Summary

Employment cont.

The board approved the following RCHS additional duty assignments for the 2024-2025 school year:

Football: Luke Carmody (Head Coach), Matt Powell and Dakotah Brown (Assistant Coaches), Ryan Denton, Klay Wheeler, Jeremiah Brown, Hassan Steele, Colton Carmody, Mike Gilreath, Tristan Morris, and Dave Denton (Volunteers)

Volleyball: Brenda Stallard (Head Coach)

Girls Tennis: Audrey Jensen (Head Coach)

Girls Cross Country: Amy Julian (Head Coach), Brooks Julian and Holden Hough (Volunteers)

Boys Soccer: Jason Burckhartt (Head Coach)

Boys Basketball: Rob Flanagan (Head Coach), Dakotah Brown (Assistant Coach) Josh Brown (Freshmen Coach) and Rick Franklin (Volunteer)

Girls Basketball: Ian Laughlin (Head Coach), Klay Wheeler (Assistant Coach), Taylor Rauch (Freshmen Coach), Anna Blank (Volunteer)

Cheerleading: Briauna Baltzell (Head Coach) and Brooke Wheeler (Assistant Coach)

Boys and Girls Golf: Curt Nealis (Head Coach), Dave Berry (Volunteer)

Boys and Girls Swimming: Matt Powell (Head Coach) **Wrestling:** Hassan Steele (Head Coach), Skyler Sutton (Assistant Coach)

Athletic Director: Jessica VanDyke

Band Director: Christopher Jones

Assistant Band Director: Nancy Deimel

Student Council Sponsors: Katie Fehrenbacher & Courtney Roth

Junior Class Sponsors: Amy Rusk, Jeffrey Ryden, and Sheri Gray

Musical Sponsors: Mandy Ginder (Director), Warren Weitkamp (Music Director), Jeffrey Ryden (Set Design), Joyce Fritschle (Pianist), and Sue Pixley (Construction Assistant)

Olnean: Amy Rusk

JROTC Drill Team & Rifle Team: Roy Waldhoff FBLA: Brenda Stallard

Scholastic Bowl: Chelsea Puckett (Head Coach) Pep Club: Luke Carmody

Department Heads: Julie Fleming (Math), Jessica Hinckley (ELA), Curt Nealis (Science), Klay Wheeler (Social Science), Chris Jones (Fine Arts), Jessica VanDyke (Health/PE/Drivers Ed/JROTC), Melinda King (Special Education), and Brenda Stallard (Career Tech Ed)

Employment cont.

The board approved the following RCMS additional duty assignments for the 2024-2025 school year: Athletic Director: Collin Klingler Cross Country: Bobbie Lathrop (Head Coach), Kendra Page (Assistant Coach) **Softball:** Elizabeth Sparks (Head Coach) 6th Grade Boys Basketball: Dawson Brown Girls Basketball: Jillian Woods (Head Coach), Logan Kauble (Assistant Coach) 6th Grade Girls Basketball: Jillian Woods **Volleyball:** Emily Rusk (Head Coach) Boys Track: Hilary Cecil (Head Coach), Charlie Butler (Assistant Coach) Girls Track: Jillian Woods (Head Coach) Cheerleading: Donna Henby Talent Show: Warren Weitkamp Yearbook: Jamie Tyler Student Leadership: Mandy Houchin **Band Director:** Caitlin Ochs Team Leaders: Kristin Flanagan (Rotation), Jamie Tyler (6th Grade), Mandy Houchin (7th Grade), and Julie Clodfelter (8th Grade)

The board approved rehiring the current administrative personnel, all licensed staff, and all educational support staff for the 2024-2025 school year.

The meeting adjourned at 9:23 p.m.

Upcoming Meeting(s) May 16, 2024 - Regular Board Meeting 6:00 PM