

Jacob Oliva, Secretary

July 11, 2025

Arkansas Teacher of the Year Top 15 Finalists Named

LITTLE ROCK — The Arkansas Department of Education is pleased to announce the names of the educators named 2026 Arkansas Teacher of the Year Top 15 Finalists. These educators will be recognized July 28 at an event at the Governor's Mansion.

"I am proud of the finalists for their dedication to the profession and student learning," ADE Secretary Jacob Oliva said. "Those selected represent some of the best of the best in the teaching profession, and I look forward to learning from them."

The finalists listed below will each receive a certificate and a \$1,000 prize provided by the Walton Family Foundation.

Alana Ashworth

Science – Grade 5 Prairie Grove Middle School Prairie Grove School District

Brad Beatty

Math and Science – Grade 5 Russellville Intermediate School Russellville School District

Chenel Dale

Kindergarten Asbell Elementary School Fayetteville School District

Heidi Faught-Strong

Math/Science – Grade 5 Main Street Visual and Performing Arts Magnet School Hot Springs School District

Susan Ford

Instrumental Music – Grades 7-8 Cabot Junior High North and Cabot Junior High South Cabot School District

Gretchen Freyaldenhoven

Science and Social Studies – Grade 5 Greenbrier Wooster Elementary School Greenbrier School District

Victoria Golden

English Language Arts – Grade 3 Dr. Marian G. Lacey K-8 Academy Little Rock School District

Danny Hobson

Theatre & Technical Theatre – Grades 9-12 Alma High School Alma School District

Tarji Russell-Chaffin

Biomedical Science – Grades 9-12 Dumas High School Dumas School District

Kevin Sherman

Instrumental Music – Grades 7-12 Stuttgart High School Stuttgart School District

Kaitlin Smith

Science and English as a Second Language – Grades 10-12 Conway High School Conway School District

Misty Smith

Science – Grade 6 Goza Middle School Arkadelphia School District

Jessie Walls

Second Grade Jim D. Rollins School of Innovation Springdale School District

Elaina Weaver

Math – Grade 6 Bethel Middle School Bryant School District

Stephanie Williams

Music – Grades K-4 Mountain View Elementary School Benton School District

The department's ATOY program recognizes Arkansas educators for their outstanding teaching and leadership skills. During the recognition event at the mansion later this month, the state semi-finalists will be announced. The 2026 ATOY will be announced later this fall and will apply to become the National Teacher of the Year.

To learn more about the program, visit dese.link/ATOY.

dese.ade.arkansas.gov

Four Capitol Mall • Little Rock, AR 72201 • 501-682-4475



<u>Manage</u> your preferences <u>| Opt Out</u> using TrueRemove™ Got this as a forward? <u>Sign up</u> to receive our future emails. View this email online.

Four Capitol Mall | Little Rock, AR 72201 US

emma